Day 27 – Veggie Chili

So this recipe I normally wing after a quick call to my Dad and Step-Mom. My Dad is the king of meat chili and I always ask his advice. This time I ended up getting the low down from my Step mom because she has made meatless chili before. Her tip this time was to add a little bit of curry powder. I was skeptical even as I was making it but I gotta say it was actually pretty good. You don’t taste the curry powder right away but its more of an after taste that pleases your taste buds for a brief moment before disappearing.
These are the ingredients I used on this day but please add/take away anything you don’t like or want more of.

4cups of beans (bulk Texas chili mix was used here)

2012-12-10 16.36.45

4cloves of garlic
6 Tomatoes (diced)
hand full of mushrooms (chopped)
4 stalks of celery (chopped)
1 large onion (chopped)
1 red pepper(chopped)
5 Carrots (chopped)
Homemade tomato sauce (recipe here)
2012-12-10 16.58.12Don’t forget to save all the vegetable peels/end and such. Put them in the freezer to save them for next time you make homemade veggie broth.
2012-12-10 17.08.47
Spices
I just Used about 1/4 cup chili powder and a tablespoon of curry powder
2012-12-10 17.08.41
Mix it all in a slow cooker and turn on!
I used the settings on high for 4 hours.
2012-12-10 17.08.59

ENJOY!
2012-12-10 20.26.29

Leave a Reply

