Humpday-Cabbage, Carrots, & Rice! Oh My!

4 days into my gut healing process and I feel so good.

My morning routine swayed slightly. I bought a package of the Vega protein shake at the store and decided to give it a whirl. I really liked that it was thicker in consistency. At first taste all I could taste was artificial sweetener. It was strange. The surface of my tongue got numb feeling and it tasted exactly like that artificial sweeter you can taste in ‘diet’ drinks or ‘no sugar added’ items.
I looked up the non medical ingredients and they include:
“Natural Dutch cocoa powder, natural chocolate, cocoa, xanthan gum, stevia leaf extract.”
Could it be the Stevia extract? Stevia is definitely not artificial. I’m really not sure what I was tasting in this shake but It had me so thirsty. After drinking the shake I had to down 2 large water bottles before the thirst subsided.
Matt decided to try out a concoction of his own with the sprouted brown rice protein powder we already bought last Saturday.
He added a frozen banana and also melted the coconut oil like I did yesterday.
Curious about his concoction I took a teenie sip. Not knowing if I could have banana I though a sip would be best.
It was surprisingly tasty! I couldn’t believe that a simple banana could alter a taste that much! This trick will definitely make this shake more tolerable.

For lunch it was Matt’s turn to make lunch. He made a veggie soup. He used veggie broth and chopped up cabbage to look like noodles. He added cooked onion, carrots, and asparagus. It was delish. Quick, Easy, and Frugal!

For dinner I have to confess I “cheated” :s
I got Sushi!!
I got a cucumber roll and an avocado roll. I know I shouldn’t have because the mirin in the rice but I needed to spice things up a bit. I did not have soy sauce and it did take me from 6-9 to eat it all. I was not hungry today. I had nuts for snack at 1030 and 230 and that had me quite content. I knew I had to eat more so I ate all the sushi but I could have been fine without it.

I had dance again today. My wednesday schedule is 3 jazz classes and a dance conditioning class. Since it was a beautiful day I decided to take my students out for a run. Our little loop around the surrounding neighborhood was about 1.4miles…….and it took us 18min!!!! ha they are definitely not used to this type of thing but they gave it all they got and worked hard to complete it. They seemed to enjoy it and discussed goals for the next run 🙂

So that’s It for today. Its 11:30 and I’m ready for sleep!
Good Night!!!!

Do you drink protein shakes? what are your favorite brands?
have you tried Vega? What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

